Tags

, , ,

One of the things I love about the holiday season is receiving thoughtful cards from friends and loved ones who want to share recent photos or tidbits about their year, and wish our family a wonderful holiday. After holiday displays come down though, what do you do with them all? I am not one to waste, especially photos of children and families that I love! So for the past 2 years I have created holiday card books for my daughter (now 16 months) to enjoy. She flips through them and enjoys looking at her family, friends, pets, snow people, snowy scenes, etc. I thought I would share a short tutorial for those interested in doing the same!

Enjoy!

Lizzy

I started out making it similar to last year, with a hole punch, stack of cards, and 2 key chain rings.

holiday card book supplies

Then I changed my mind and decided to use red and white baker’s twine. Yes, I have a huge spool of it in my house. 😉

holiday card book supplies

The first step is to punch holes in the cards. I then created three “signatures” to break up the way the pages turn, and threaded the twine through the holes, knotting it at each signature.

When I was done with one side, I started on the other side, and then tied them together at the spine. Easy peasy.

IMG_5409

Here is the finished product.

IMG_5411

Here are both books (from last year and this year).

IMG_5413

And here is my daughter enjoying one!

IMG_5412